Mortal Kombat 2011 Guides

Mortal Kombat 2011 Game Guide: Shang Tsung

Shang Tsung is a fictional Mortal Kombat character and one of the fighters who debuted in the first title of the franchise.

Shang Tsung is the main antagonist in all Mortal Kombat video games, being Shao Khan’s “right hand”, and loyal servant.

Shang Tsung’s origins are in Earthrealm but he resides in Outworld with his emperor. His past is filled with mystery; but it is known that his main ability is to shape-shift.

It is also known that a long time ago, Shang Tsung enlisted in aMortal Kombat tournament but during one of the fights, he cheated.

The Elder Gods sentenced him to death; however Shao Khan made a deal with him, and agreed to spare his life and increase his magical powers.

In return Shang Tsung became Khan’s ally and he moved to the Outworld where he learned the Black Arts.

After multiple battles, Shang Tsung committed one of the biggest atrocities, by stealing the soul of a victim. The Elder Gods cursed him and since then Shang Tsung’s started to age rapidly.

The only way to stop the aging process was to consume more souls. As a skilled fighter, Shang Tsung quickly became the Mortal Kombat champion, until one day when he was defeated by Great Kung Lao.

After this defeat, Shang Tsung vanished, but he returned later with one of his students, Prince Goro. Shao Khan ordered Shang Tsung to organize a new Mortal Kombat tournament and defeat the Earthrealm’s fighters.

In that tournament, Goro killed Kung Lao and Shang Tsung took his soul, allowing Shao Khan to begin his domination over the Mortal Kombat tournaments.

Shang Tsung’s biography which is presented in Mortal Kombat 9, offers additional information regarding Shao Khan’s powerful servant:

“A treacherous sorcerer who consumes the souls of his victims, Shang Tsung has played host to the last nine Mortal Kombat tournaments in Earthrealm, stacking the odds in favor of his master. Originally from Earthrealm, Shang Tsung’s magical abilities led him to discover the realm of Outworld. There he fell in league with its ruler, Shao Kahn, and pledged his life to him in return for enhanced power. He is now bound to the emperor by powerful dark magic. For centuries he has submissively done Shao Kahn’s bidding. Should he fail in his mission to secure Earthrealm, he will suffer the emperor’s wrath.”

The guide below contains the full list with all the moves that can be executed by Shang Tsung in Mortal Kombat 9.

Players can use this guide and learn how to perform Shang Tsung’s finishing moves or his special attacks, including his X-Ray attack.

Additionally, the guide reveals Shang Tsung’s secret fatalities and his babality.

Mortal Kombat 2011 Game Guide: Shang Tsung

NOTE: All moves were extracted from the game, while playing in the single player mode, and in the right side of the screen. Because of this, players can replace the following keys:

  • Right = Forward
  • Left = Back (Away)

Mortal Kombat 9: Shang Tsung Basic Attacks (Moves) List

Uppercut – Press: Crouch + Back Punch
Forearm Poke – Press: Left + Front Punch
Forearm Strike – Press: Left + Back Punch
Elbow Blast – Press: Right + Back Punch
Shin Attack – Press: Left + Front Kick
Quick Knee – Press: Right + Front Kick
Sweep – Press: Left + Back Kick
Throw (Away) – Press: Throw
Throw (Towards) – Press: Right + Throw

Mortal Kombat 9: Shang Tsung Special Attacks List

Fire Skull – Press: Left, Left, Front Punch
Up Skull (Above) – Press: Crouch, Jump, Back Punch
Up Skull (Behind) – Press: Crouch, Right, Back Punch
Up Skull (In Front) – Press: Crouch, Left, Back Punch
Ground Skull (Close) – Press: Crouch, Jump, Back Kick
Ground Skull (Medium) – Press: Crouch, Left, Back Kick
Ground Skull (Far) – Press: Crouch, Right, Back Kick
Soul Steal (Far) – Press: Right, Crouch, Left, Front Kick

Mortal Kombat 9: Shang Tsung Enhanced Attacks List

These moves use one bar of super:

Triple Skulls – Press: Left, Left, Front Punch + Block
Skull Storm – Press: Crouch, Jump, Back Punch + Block
Ground Eruption – Press: Crouch, Jump, Back Kick + Block
Soul Capture – Press: Right, Crouch, Left, Front Kick + Block

Mortal Kombat 9: Shang Tsung Tag Specials List

These moves will use one bar of super:

Tag Attack – Press: Crouch, Right + Tag
Tag Assist – Press: Crouch, Left + Tag

Mortal Kombat 9: Shang Tsung X-Ray Attacks List

This attack uses three bars of super:

Your Soul Is Mine – Press: Flip Stance + Block

Mortal Kombat 9: Shang Tsung Finishing Moves (Fatalities) List

Bang Bang! – Press: Left, Crouch, Right, Front Kick (Sweep)

Mortal Kombat 9: Shang Tsung Secret Finishing Moves (Fatalities and Babalities) List

To perform the secret fatality (Identity Theft) with Shang Tsung , press: Crouch, Crouch, Left, Crouch, Back Punch
To perform the secret babality with Shang Tsung , press: Crouch, Left, Crouch, Front Kick
To perform the secret stage fatality with Shang Tsung , press: Jump, Jump, Left, Back Punch

Mortal Kombat 9: Shang Tsung Kombo (Combo) Attacks List

Bad Omen – Press: Front Punch, Back Punch, Front Punch
Soul Stain – Press: Front Punch, Back Punch, Back Punch
Soul Torment’ – Press Front Punch, Front Kick
Reserved Pain – Press: Left + Front Punch, Back Punch, Front Punch, Back Kick
Death Walker – Press: Back Punch, Back Punch, Front Punch
Restored Youth – Press: Back Punch, Back Punch, Left + Back Kick
Play Time – Press: Right + Front Kick, Back Kick
Deadly Truth – Press: Right + Back Kick, Front Kick, Back Kick

Mortal Kombat 9: Shang Tsung Fast Tags List List

Side By Side – Press: Left + Front Punch, Back Punch, Front Punch, Tag
Ruthless – Press: Back Punch, Back Punch, Front Punch, Tag

Mortal Kombat 9: Shang Tsung Tag Kombos (Combos) List

Soul Stealer – Press: Front Punch, Back Punch, Tag
Burning Evil – Press: Left + Front Punch, Back Punch, Tag
B-Trade – Press: Back Punch, Back Punch, Tag
Two Of A Kind – Press: Right + Back Kick, Front Kick, Tag

Mortal Kombat 2011 Guides
Scroll to Top