Final Fantasy XV Multiplayer Mode to Be Released As DLC

Final Fantasy XV Multiplayer Mode to Be Released As DLC

Final Fantasy XV Multiplayer Mode to Be Released As DLC

Final Fantasy XV is one of the contestants at this year’s GOTY award as well as one of the most expected video games of November 2016, alongside Watch Dogs 2 and Dishonored 2.

With almost 10 years in development, the video game will finally be released on November 29, 2016 for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One, after being delayed in August 2016.

If you consider buying the video game developed and published by Square Enix, there are several editions already available for pre-order, but only Final Fantasy XV Premium Edition includes a Season Pass.

We mentioned the Season Pass, because Final Fantasy 15 will receive 6 DLCs, the last one being quite intriguing.

All these DLCs will be included in the game’s Season Pass which can be purchased separately, or as part of the Final Fantasy XV Premium Edition.

Final Fantasy XV Premium Edition costs $84.99 on Amazon but it is available only in digital format. The Season Pass will cost around $30.00 and it will include the following DLCs:

FFXV Booster Pack

FFXV Episode Gladio

FFXV Holiday Pack

FFXV Episode Ignis

FFXV Episode Prompto

FFXV Comrades Expansion Pack

So as you can see, Final Fantasy 15 will have 6 DLCs, and the last one is named Comrades.

As reported by IGN, the Comrades DLC is in fact a 4-player co-op multiplayer expansion, allowing you to play side by side with 3 other players.

Here is what director Haruyoshi Sawatari has to say about the Comrades DLC:

“When we’ve released each of those three episodes, and made each of the three characters playable, we’re going to bring back Noctis from the main game, and then add the multiplayer expansion pack which allows you to play as all of them together in new types of online adventures.

The stories we’re telling through the DLC are going to be linked closely to the main game’s story, but they’re things that we feel we could only really do within DLC.

It couldn’t have been part of the main game at all. So the kind of gameplay experiences that we’re delivering, and the kind of stories that we’re telling really wouldn’t have been possible within the game of XV. It has to be slightly removed in order to do that.

This means that Square Enix, will first release the episodes focused on Gladio, Ignis and Prompto, followed by the Comrades DLC which will unlock them in the co-op mode.

The release dates for the Final Fantasy XV DLCs are unknown yet, but if you wish to fully enjoy the FFXV experience, the Premium Edition is your best bet. Until the game releases check out the latest Final Fantasy 15 trailer below.

Scroll to Top